Why Kids Should Test

Figure skating in the U.S. can be either competitive or recreational, and those learning to skate can choose either route. While competitive skaters are required to participate in the U.S. testing structure to eventually compete in qualifying competitions, recreational skaters can also opt to take tests in order to continually challenge themselves and their abilities.

The official tests of U.S. Figure Skating may be taken by all figure skaters who are members of a member club or collegiate club, individual members who are currently registered with U.S. Figure Skating and are otherwise qualified under these rules, as well as by members of a member association of the ISU.

Test sessions can only be held under the auspices and control of a member club. Fees are involved and vary by club. Clubs do not need a sanction to hold a test session.

Sessions are organized and run under procedures outlined in the U.S. Figure Skating Rulebook. Any person who is interested in participating in the U.S. Figure Skating testing structure should review the U.S. Figure Skating Rulebook, which addresses information such as the types of tests offered, the elements on each test, how tests are marked, which judges are required, age requirements for different test categories and conduct of coaches and candidates at test sessions. 

USFS Testing Levels

Skating Skills = Moves in the Field Singles = Freeskate
Pre-Preliminary Pre-Preliminary
Preliminary Preliminary
Pre-Bronze Pre-Bronze
Bronze Bronze
Pre-Silver Pre-Silver
Silver Silver
Pre-Gold Pre-Gold
Gold Gold
Dutch Waltz Swing Hickory Hoedown Fourteen Step
Canasta Tango Cha-Cha Willow Waltz European Waltz
Rhythm Blues Fiesta Tango Ten Fox Fox Trot
American Waltz Killian Argentine Tango Silver Samba
Tango Blues Quick Step Cha Cha Congelado
Rocker Fox Trot Paso Doble Viennese Waltz Rhumba
Starlight Waltz Westminister Waltz Midnight Blues
Tango Romantica
Yankee Polka
Ravensburger Waltz
Austrian Waltz
Golden Waltz